Jefferson County is back in the 9th US Congressional District after a decade in the 6th District, and it looks like that race will include some new faces for the May primary.

On Wednesday, current 9th District US Rep. Trey Hollingsworth announced that he will not seek reelection, stating that he will keep his pledge to limit his terms in office.

On Thursday, District 47 State Senator Erin Houchin announced her intentions to seek the 9th District seat along with Bill J. Thomas.

“Now is the time for proven conservative leadership to re-take the House of Representatives, and our country, and I look forward to joining the fight,” said Houchin, who lives in Salem.

Houchin ran unsuccessfully in the 2016 9th District Republican primary, losing to Hollingsworth. Thomas has also filed as a Republican.

Several new filings have also taken place for county-wide offices including Gary Copeland for Commissioner, Upper District; Ray Black Jr. for County Council, District 3; and Amanda Creech for County Assessor.

Copeland, elected to a County Council at-large seat in 2020, is seeking the seat currently held by Ron Lee, who was elected to the office in 2018. Black, first elected in 2018, will be seeking reelection to County Council and Creech is the incumbent County Assessor, elected in August by a Republican caucus to complete the unexpired term of Karen Mannix after her resignation.

New filings for the Town of Hanover include incumbent clerk-treasurer Keith Mefford and town council president Kenny Garrett. Mefford, first elected in 2019, is seeking reelection as a Republican. Meanwhile, Garrett, is seeking re-election for the at-large seat.

Also, Cree Green filed for the District 2 seat currently held by Kathi Scroggins, who defeated Green in the 2019 Democratic primary. Scroggins has held the District 2 seat since being elected in the 2007 election, each year winning over her primary opponents.

Previously, Debbie Kroger had filed for reelection in District 3 and Treva Shelton had filed for reelection in District, both as Democrats.

Randy Lyness, Republican incumbent state representative for District 68, has filed for reelection. With redistricting, his district now encompasses Milton Township in Jefferson County, along with all of Dearborn, Ohio and Switzerland counties. Previously filing for state representative are Republican Randy Frye in District 67, which includes seven of Jefferson County’s 10 townships, and Republican Zach Payne in District 66, which includes two of the county’s townships.

Other new filings include Township Trustees Lucy J. Anderson, Democrat, Hanover Township; Tara D. Cash, Democrat, Smyrna Township; and Kevin S. Fry, Republican, Madison Township. Filings for township boards are Ronald D. Anderson, Democrat, Hanover Township, Joshua Schafer, Republican, Madison Township; and Wil Goering, Democrat, Smyrna Township.

Additionally, there are three new filings for Republican state convention delegate — Laura Hodges, Rick Reuss and Patrick Thevenow.

The filing deadline is noon on Friday, Feb. 4 The primary will be held on May 3 and general election is scheduled for Nov. 8.

Other candidates who have previously filed include:

Prosecuting Attorney — David Sutter, Democrat.

Clerk of the Circuit Court — Tabatha Eblen, Republican.

County Auditor — Heather Huff, Republican

County Sheriff — Tim Davis, Democrat, and Dave Thomas, Republican.

Republican Convention Delegate — Bob Courtney and Joshua Daniel Webb